Kingfishers in Essex?

Need advice on where to watch wildlife or want to tell others about a great wildlife hotspot?

Kingfishers in Essex?

Postby mark » Wed Apr 22, 2009 11:10 pm

Hello everyone, I am new to the forum and hoping someone here can help me out. I live in Essex and I really want to find a location where I can photograph Kingfishers. Now, I am not really the sort to sit in a hide at a reserve so ideally looking for a river where I can move around a bit (not too much) and capture these little guys without too many other people around - I prefer the solitary life when taking nature shots (I am a professional wedding photographer by trade so sometimes its nice to be by oneself). If anyone knows of a location then it would be great if they could share it with me.

If you want to check out some of my nature shots then you can [url=http://www.eyecandyphotographic.co.uk/mark/]by clicking here![/url]. I am a bit of a stickler for deer photos as you can tell.

Thanks!

Mark
mark

RE: Kingfishers in Essex?

Postby Pross1 » Thu Apr 23, 2009 7:46 am

Mark,

I don't know about Essex, but when I lived in Kent I used to fish at a place called Yalding on the River Medway. If you park in the main grass car park and walk to the weir pool, this was a hotspot for kingfishers, as was the stream that feeds in from the left. Go mid-week or early/late on a weekend. You can just sit & wait, with no need for a hide. I have also seen mink here too.
Pross1

Postby JayJay » Mon Jun 29, 2009 8:03 pm

I don't know whereabouts in Essex you are, but here is a link to the Reserve where I'm volunteer. Apparently a Kingfisher sometimes passes through and rests on the stick in the middle of the main pond.
[url=http://www.harlow.gov.uk/about_the_council/council_services/leisure_and_culture/leisure_activities/parndon_wood_nature_reserve/parndon_wood.aspx]Click[/url]