Veolia Environnement Wildlife Photographer of the Year 2012: Categories

The Veolia Environnement Wildlife Photographer of the Year 2012 Competition has now started its global search for the most inspiring, evocative, compelling, challenging nature images. Read the new category descriptions here. 

Wildlife Photographer of the Year
This section of the Competition aims to discover, encourage and reward the next generation of aspiring nature photographers.
There are three age groups:
1. 10 Years and Under
2. 11 - 14 Years
3. 15 - 17 Years
Images entered should feature any plant or animal in any subject area covered by the adult categories, whether portrait or action, environmental or landscape. Care and consideration for the subject must always come first.
1. Special Award: The Eric Hosking Portfolio Award
In recognition of the pioneering natural history photographer, Eric Hosking, whose career spanned over 60 years and made a significant contribution to our wider understanding and concern for the living world, this special award seeks to inspire, reward and empower new talent. Open to aspiring young wildlife photographers between the ages of 18 and 26 with a portfolio of ten (10) images to submit.
2. Animal Portraits
A good portrait reveals something about its subject beyond the obvious. Images may be either close-up or mid-range, and should convey a sense of intimacy, personality and spirit – the very essence of the animal – in a fresh and imaginative way.
3. Behaviour: Mammals 
4. Behaviour: Birds
5. Behaviour: Cold-Blooded Animals
Images must reveal memorable, unusual or dramatic behaviour, and must have aesthetic appeal.
6. Animals in their Environment
Images must convey a feeling of the relationship between an animal and the place where it lives, and have a great sense of atmosphere.
7. Botanical Realms
Recalling the traditional classification of the botanical kingdom, the focus of this category is plants, fungi, algae and slime moulds. Images should capture the beauty, mystery, majesty, fragility and diversity of the subject, whether in close-up or as part of the wider world.
8. Underwater Worlds
This category focuses on aquatic ecosystems and the marine and freshwater species that inhabit them. Images may be portraits, action shots or wide shots, but must always be photographed under the water.
9. Wildscapes
Images should reflect the scale and magnitude of our land, sky and seas, as well as the diverse and breathtaking effects of the natural forces responsible for sculpting these environments. Stitched images and panoramics are allowed.
10. Urban Wildlife
Images must capture the magic of the commonplace. Images must be surprising, stirring, revelatory compositions that focus on nature’s occupation of the manmade environment.
11. Nature in Black and White
This category focuses on the skilful use of the black-and-white medium to enhance a striking composition. All subject matter covered in other categories is eligible. Dodging, burning or toning is allowed.
12. Creative Visions
This category is for conceptual pictures – original and surprising views of nature, whether figurative or abstract – which will be judged purely on their artistic merits.
13. Special Award: The Gerald Durrell Award for Endangered Species
Named after visionary naturalist and conservationist, Gerald Durrell, this award seeks to raise awareness to those species in danger of extinction. Any species featured must be listed at an international or national level as critically endangered, endangered, vulnerable, or near threatened in the 2011 IUCN Red List.
14. Special Award: The World in Our Hands
This category explores the increasingly complex relationship between people and the environment by documenting both destructive and constructive influences. Images may be newsworthy, symbolic or graphic, but must always be thought-provoking and engender a greater awareness of how our actions affect the natural world.
15. Special Award: The Wildlife Photojournalist Award
This category seeks to develop the visual narrative through a series of six (6) unique images that, together, tell a story without the need for words. All subject matter covered in other categories is eligible.
For terms of entry, please read the Rules here.


We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here