Split for the first time into categories – UK Nature Writing and Writing on Global Conservation – the winners of the 2020 Wainwright Prize have been announced.


Diaries of a Young Naturalist by Dara McAnulty won the 2020 Wainwright Prize for UK Nature Writing. McAnulty is the youngest ever winner of this prize.

Dara McAnulty, author of The Diary of a Young Naturalist.
Dara McAnulty, author of The Diary of a Young Naturalist.

The Diary of a Young Naturalist is a significant nature book – made all the more so because it is Dara McAnulty’s first, completed before his 16th birthday,” says Julia Bradbury, TV presenter and chair of the judging panel for the UK Nature writing category.

“Our Wainwright Prize winner this year is nuanced, passionate and caring. It's a wonderful diary that fits around Dara’s personal endeavours and family experiences, but ultimately, shaped by the nature that surrounds us all. The judges were almost breathless from reading it and would like to call for it to be immediately listed on the national curriculum. Such is the book's power to move and the urgency of the situation we face.”

Rebirding by Benedict Macdonald is the inaugural winner of the new category, Writing on Global Conservation.

Benedict Macdonald, author of Rebirding
Benedict Macdonald, author of Rebirding

Rebirding is an immensely readable book on complex and contentious issues,” says Charlotte Smith, BBC Countryfile presenter and chair of the Writing on Global Conservation category.

“As you’d expect, it considers the needs of birds, but also the future of rural communities in an interesting and engaging way. While not everyone will agree with Benedict Macdonald’s conclusions, they’ll enjoy arguing with him as they read!”

The prize is named after nature writer Alfred Wainwright and has been running for seven years. The prize is supported by Frances Lincoln Publishers, publisher of the Wainwright Guides, the Wainwright Estate and in partnership with the National Trust.

The £5,000 prize fund will be shared and presented to the authors of the winning books, as well as framed trophies featuring artwork by Jon Tremaine.

The shortlisted books for the 2020 Wainwright Prize For UK Nature Writing:

  • On the Red Hill, by Mike Parker Cornerstone. Published Penguin Random House UK. Awarded Highly Commended.
  • The Frayed Atlantic Edge, by David Gange. Published by William Collins.
  • Dark, Salt, Clear, by Lamorna Ash. Published by Bloomsbury.
  • Native: Life in a Vanishing Landscape, by Patrick Laurie. Published by Birlinn.
  • Dancing with Bees, by Brigit Strawbridge Howard, illustrated by John Walters. Published by Chelsea Green Publishing.
  • Wanderland, by Jini Reddy. Published by Bloomsbury Wildlife.

The shortlisted books for the 2020 Wainwright Prize For Writing on Global Conservation:

  • Irreplaceable, by Julian Hoffman. Published by Penguin/Hamish Hamilton. Awarded Highly Commended.
  • Life Changing, by Helen Pilcher. Published by Sigma, Bloomsbury.
  • Sitopia, by Carolyn Steel. Published by Vintage/Chatto & Windus.
  • What We Need to Do Now, by Chris Goodall. Published by Profile Books.
  • Working with Nature, by Jeremy Purseglove. Published by Profile Books.

Previous winners of the Wainwright Prize:

  • 2019 – Underland, by Robert Macfarlane
  • 2018 – The Seabird’s Cry, by Adam Nicholson
  • 2017 – Where Poppies Blow: The British Soldier, Nature, The Great War, by John Lewis-Stempel
  • 2016 – The Outrun, by Amy Liptrot
  • 2015 – Meadowland: The Private Life of an English Field, by John Lewis-Stempel
  • 2014 – The Green Road into Trees: A Walk Through England by Hugh Thomson


Megan ShersbyNaturalist, writer and content creator